The WE LOVE Christian Music Awards recently released their nominees which include a record-breaking 86 individual artists in two dozen categories.  The WE LOVE Christian Music Awards are currently in their sixth year.

The awards are presented, the largest Christian music site online.  It is exclusively sponsored by Visible Music College, and this year is the largest year so far with almost 100,000 votes cast in comparison to the previous quarter of a million in 2013.

NewReleaseToday Founder and President, Kevin McNeese, commented,  “The music industry is continuing to evolve and change in front of our eyes.  I’m thrilled that every year we get to honor not just the top talent from every corner and genre of Christian music, but also express the true depth of our industry. Christian music fans should be able to find something new and exciting in every category this year.”

Among this year’s nominees are pop sensations Hollyn and Tauren Wells which lead this year with five nominations, and both artists are contending for both The Hook Award (Pop Album of the Year) and Album of the Year.

Next is MercyMe, who was nominated for Group of the Year, Music Video of the Year (“Happy Dance”), The PopLITE Award (Best Pop Contemporary Album of the Year), and Song of the Year (“Even If”).

Bethel Music and Iron Bell Music, contemporary artists David Dunn and Matthew West, gospel newcomer, Koryn Hawthorne, and Jamie Grace received three nominations.

“These awards are a celebration of all the things we loved about Christian music in a particular year,” McNeese said. “This year, we added more new categories than ever to reflect the qualities that were unique to 2017.”

These new categories include an expansion to the pop categories to include a Freebird Award for Best Art-Pop Album of the Year, The PopLite Award for Best Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year, and the Inspo Award for Best Inspirational Album of the Year following a two-year absence.

Additionally, the Gospel Album of the Year (Soul Vibe Award) was introduced.  Nominees include Anthony Brown & group therAPY, Deitrick Haddon, Marvin Sapp, Travis Greene and Tye Tribbett.

Regarding worship songs, the Worship Song of the Year’s nominees are: Bethel Music, Bright City, Elevation Worship, Iron Bell Music and Josh Baldwin.

Also included is the Cover Song of the Year category, and a recognition of artists’s contributions to the film industry both inside and outside of the Christian market (Movie Song of the Year).

Independent artists are on the rise with this year’s nominations: 29/115 nominees (25%) are independent artists.


Voting has recently been open at the WeLoveAwards where fans can select their favourites in 24 categories, and can vote as many times as they choose.  Voting closes Friday, January 26, 2018.  Each voter will be entered to win a GoTrax Overboard personal transportation vehicle, and several other prizes.  Winners for the awards will be announced in the first quarter of 2018.


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.